two cycles of Coventry Eagle's 1938 range

The Coventry Eagle Company were a cycle and motorcycle firm based in Coventry.

The business began in 1890 as Hotchkiss, Mayo & Meek, but they changed their name to Coventry Eagle in 1897 when John Meek left the company.

Coventry Eagle's first cycles to be offered were 'Royal Eagle' safety models, but by 1898, they also began to experiment with motorised vehicles including forecars and motor-bicycles.

Production was naturally hampered during WWI, but resumed in 1919, and through the guidance of Percy Mayo, began to build machines of wide appeal mostly powered by JAP engines using Montgomery frames.

After a works move to Foleshill Road, by the mid-1920s Coventry Eagle released perhaps one of their most iconic motorcycles - the 998cc 'Flying 8' model. The 'Pullman' arrived in 1936 and a few years later, the economic 98cc lightweight 'Auto-Ette'.

By 1950, The company were only producing a small range of cycles and auto-cycles as the industry began to suffer nationally. One final move to Tile Hill saw only the production of cycles but this was all finally wound up in 1959.
Culture Coventry Limited; Registered in Cardiff, Wales, No. 8359113; Registered under the Charities Act 1960, Registration No. 1152899
Culture Coventry Ventures Limited - Registered in Cardiff, Wales, No. 5263892
Culture Coventry Events Limited – Registered in Cardiff, Wales, No. 8108478
Registered Offices – Herbert Art Gallery & Museum, Jordan Well, Coventry CV1 5QP

Cookie Policy  || Copyright 2012 || Designed by LightMedia